Award for scientists

On the occasion of the 100th anniversary of Reinhold von Sengbusch in 1998, his heirs, Kurt, Werner und Günter von Sengbusch and Karin Riede, founded the "Reinhold von Sengbusch Prize". Reinhold von Sengbusch (1898 - 1985) was an important botanist and breeder of crop plants, as a blog post in Max Planck's digital library states.

The prize is awarded yearly for the three best posters of young scientists at the Conference Molecular Biology of Plants. Since 2010, the section is also awarding the best oral presentations of young scientists.